Dr Dionysios Demetis

Speaker on Risk, Cyber Security, Anti-Money Laundering & a host of other (controversial) topics!
Dr Dionysios Demetis started out in Physics and is an expert on Anti-Money Laundering (AML) and Information Systems.

He obtained a PhD on AML from the London School of Economics where he also taught on Information Systems Management, Security and Methodology. While at the LSE, he contributed widely to a number of research deliverables for the European Commission, but most importantly to the domain of Anti-Money Laundering for the Spotlight EU project, as well as the GATE EU Project targeting Money Laundering and Terrorist Financing. His research on the Risk-Based Approach to Anti-Money Laundering and the 3rd EU Directive has been featured in the IMOLIN select bibliography of the United Nations while his research on Data Growth and the Consequences to Anti-Money Laundering has won the Emerald Highly Commended Award from the Journal of Money Laundering Control.

Dionysios has authored a large number of AML research deliverables for the European Commission and the Future of Identity for the Information Society (FIDIS) for which he was a Convenor of its Steering Group. Additionally, he is the author of two books and numerous journal publications. His book on AML entitled "Technology and Anti-Money Laundering" is the first book to provide a coherent theoretical structure for AML research and practice, based on Systems Theory. According to reviews, this book makes a great contribution to our understanding of anti-money laundering at both a systems and practical level.

Dionysios also has a passion for systems theory, science and the paradoxes of knowledge discovery processes. He spent six years co-authoring a book with LSE Professor Ian Angell, entitled "Sciences First Mistake" that deconstructs the process of knowledge discovery and theory construction on the basis of observation, paradox, delusion and self-reference. Sciences First Mistake is published worldwide and constitutes a full-frontal attack to our cerebral addiction to Scientific Truth and the Delusion of Objectivity.

He has given a large number of talks on Anti-Money Laundering, Cybersecurity and other topics across Europe/US; speaks regularly at Cambridge Universitys Annual Economic Crime Symposium; has shared a panel in an I-4 meeting on Data Mining Financial Transactions and Manipulating Big Data (before Data became Big) with H.Schmidt (former Special Assistant to President Obama on CyberSecurity); was asked to give feedback to the House of Lords on the Procurement and Innovation Technologies Bill; and was asked to compose the music for the Anthem for the Society of Spacetime Physics.
Send a request
Price from: £ 1,500


Send a request

Science’s First Mistake

Intended for a general and educated audience, this talk is based on the popular book of the speaker "Science's First Mistake: Delusions in Pursuit of Theory", published worldwide by Bloomsbury. Usually delivered in 45 minutes, this talk is a general (philosophy of) science talk and a rather cerebral experience. The speaker will discuss the general trajectory of science and the paradoxes that lurk around every corner of scientific discovery, motivating the audience to think outside of the 'box' (if there is a box!). This talk is also great as a controversial after-dinner talk.

Send a request

We will respond within 24 hours

Other speakers

Alex Moyle
Judith Leary-Joyce
Heather White
Hamish McRae
Emily Rose Yates
David Clutterbuck
Anna Williamson
Angus Kennedy
Alan Cooke
Alan Moore
Jeff Grout
Michael Kurn
Kate Atkin
Chris Perks
Ben Hunt-Davis
Chris Goodall
Roz Savage
Anthony Stears
Rick Kiesewetter
Harriet Waley-Cohen
Cy Edmondson
Gerry Brown
Colin Coulson-Thomas
Carl Honoré
Jonathan MacDonald
Jean Rogers
Wayne Hemingway
Trewin Restorick
Ben Ryan
Frank Dick OBE
Martin Graff
Debra Searle, MVO, MBE
Gerald Ratner
Julie Peasgood
Joy Marsden
Georgie Barrat
Sir Anthony McCoy OBE
Erica Crompton
Ann Daniels
Jen Hall
Johannes (Jan) de Jonge
Jake Meyer
Ian Goldin
Dave Erasmus
Helen Croydon
Steve Clarke
Bruce King
Henry ‘Blowers’ Blofeld
Ania Lichota
Ian Pearson
Miriam Staley
Paul Adamson
Hayley Quinn
Noreena Hertz
Frank Furness
Rachel Kelly
Caroline Carr
René Carayol
Chris Moon
Gillian Wilmot
Adrian Furnham
Ian Moore
Geoff Ramm
Jo-Dee Walmsley
Sue Powell
Dave Birss
Geoff Holt
Carl (The Caveman) Rosier-Jones
Tom Fitzsimons
Conrad Humphreys
Chris Bonington
Lawrence Leyton
Dr. Christian Busch
James Pimentel-Pinto
Dr Morgaine Gaye
Neil Laughton
Ellis J Stewart
Jane Sunley
Robin Waite
Brendan Hall
Amanda Hamilton
Shed Simove
Jasmine Birtles
Ed Dowding
Steve Cunningham
Andy Pag
Laura Hamilton
Larry Hochman
Peter Cook
Bob the cat Bevan
Andy Lopata
Emma J. Wells
Brian O’Driscoll
Tim Wade
Molly Harvey
Margaret Heffernan
Inma Martinez
David Rowan
Philip Hesketh
James Redmond
Chris Purchase
Maryrose Lyons
Dominic Holland
David Davies
Alan J Whitaker
Vijay Govindarajan
James Woudhuysen
Florence Eid-Oakden
Jack Black
Tony Anderson
Jason Fox
Ed Stafford
Lord John Bird
Tim Bean
Duncan Falconer
Roger Harrop The CEO Expert
James Bellini
Jo Haigh
Frank Furedi
Jo Hardy
Joey Zuber
Jessica Lorimer
Glenn McCrory
Monty Halls
Peter Fisk
Will Kintish
Anthony Garvey
Sophie Bennett
Joe Bor
Michael Jackson
Richard Tyler
Ian Thomas
Penny Mallory
Rhiannon Jones
Paul McGee
Humphrey Walters
Alistair Barrie
Paul Sloane
Kate Ancketill
Andy Ibbott
Sarah Hopwood
Fanny Snaith
Allister Frost
Ade McCormack
Bill Grimsey
Calum Chace
Joe Nellis
Jeremy Black
Sahar Hashemi
Robin Sieger
Dave Cornthwaite
Helena Lucas MBE
Jenny Pacey
Simon Moores
Alan Stevens
Alex Hunter
Jeremy Dale
Alex Owumi
Nigel Barlow
Allan Pease
George Yip
Joan Latta
Graham Davies
Pushpanath Krishnamurthy
Fraser Doherty
Geoff Miller OBE
Lee Jackson
Andy Hanselman
Gemma Gardner
Lesley Everett
Nirmalya Kumar
Joakim Everstin
Jamie Andrew OBE
Paul Heiney
Mandy Hickson
John Adair
Susie Dent
Kirsty Wark
Bruno Roque Cignacco
Costas Markides
James Brett
Andreu Mateu
Ivan Berry
Nathan Littleton
Catherine Spencer
Jeffrey Archer
Gerald Ashley
Gina Gardiner
Carole Gaskell
Mark Fritz
Amin Rajan
Cathy O Dowd
Bennett Arron
David Bryon
Frederika Roberts
Eddie Obeng
Adam Hart-Davis
Vanessa Vallely
Nigel Risner
Jeremy Leggett
Jo Owen
Sebastian Abineri
Gyles Brandreth
Oliver Lowrie
Spike Reid
Pen Hadow
Graham Parker
Adrian Gilpin
Andrew Lownie
James Nottingham
Jonathan Story
Marc Koska
Happy As Larry Group
John Bell
Joanna Williams
Mark Jones
George Berkowski
Mark Gallagher
Geoff Burch
David Smith
Ray Hammond
Stephen Frost
Stephen Venables
Hugo Chittenden
Jae Mather
Brad Ashton
Caspar Berry
Robert Ashton
Joao Bocas
David G.W. Birch
Cerys Nelmes
Steve Head
Heather Townsend
Julian Birkinshaw
Gemma Milne
Richard Watson
Vikie Shanks
Augusto Lopez-Claros
Dr. William Tan
Alex Alley
Alan O\'Neill
Eilidh Milnes
Susan Greenfield
Professor Ian Cooper